Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Night Out

out in the west village at marie's crisis

a chaotic theater kid night

Sorry about the late letter, but I was prepping for my *debut hour of stand up comedy*!!! It rocked! And now I’m going on a world tour*

*Domestic US Tour to major metropolitan areas only xo. If you’re in Boston, Chicago, Miami, or LA, I’d love to see you!

I’d been begging my friend, comedian and voice of a generation, Zach Schiffman, to go with me to Marie’s Crisis, and now that I’m back in the states, it was finally time for us to have the quintessential theater kid night out…you know the one, it starts with drinking tequila sodas and gossiping about who is getting cast and at some point you will be belting out “Seasons of Love.”

THE STATS

  • Day of the Week: Sunday

  • Neighborhood: The West Village

  • The Crew: leader of the pack, Zach Schiffman, theater girlies turned comedians, Maggie Crane & Esther Fallick, and our boyfriend for the night, Terrence.

  • The Fit: Turquoise halter top from She*n, wide leg jeans, and platform Teva sandals. Honestly, this outfit was a rare flop for me, and I didn’t take many pictures. The top is actually great, I just shouldn’t have worn the jeans. I was sweating all night. The vibe was like 80’s superhero/Charlie’s Angel, bloated, on her period.

  • Home by 2am

THE PREGAME: Goldie’s

Zach invited me to meet him at diva & comedian Bridget Foley’s karaoke birthday party at Goldie’s in Greenpoint. Goldie’s is a really sexy Vegas-themed dive-y cocktail bar. Think leopard print, weird artwork of old celebrities and tigers, and fringe. It looks like what cocaine feels like, does that make sense? And it randomly has one of the best private karaoke rooms in the city.

It’s also famously my ex-situationship, from my mid twenties’s, favorite bar. We dated on and off for like 4 months going on what felt like 3 years. Whenever I’m in Greenpoint, I feel the ghosts of our relationship.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Night Out to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.