Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Night Out

out in the east village at the flower shop

Mad Realities threw a *sick* brand party

I had the time of my life at the Mad Realities Behind the Scene Season 3 Launch Party at The Flower Shop. Despite being on a Tuesday (brave) at 10pm (could have killed me), it had all the ingredients for a fun time: *sexy venue,* *hot people,* *fun group of friends who are also hot of course,* *branded merch,* *inspiring tarot reading,* and even an *ice luge.*

THE STATS

  • Day of the Week: Tuesday

  • Neighborhood: East Village

  • The Crew: well of course my girl, comedian Glennis LaRoe, her boyfriend, comedian Dan Yang, hot Decadence Podcast duo Garrett Williams and Allison O’Conor, and then my faves, the Mad Realities team, Alice, Sandy, Wally, and co!

  • The Fit: Mint green For Love & Lemons mini dress that I rented from Fashion Pass (Use code JENNY2U for $70 off a subscription) with fake DHG*te Gucci mules. I got a lot of compliments, and I decided to buy it. I’m just a girl. The vibe was Hamptons Cinderella, lost her Gucci slipper.

  • Home by 1:30am

THE GAME: The Flower Shop

I’d only been to The Flower Shop once before for a different brand event for ASOS in 2018, pre-pandemic. I was so young and carefree then. I had never edited a stand up clip. I actually barely even did stand up then, just hosting and…improv…. which I need you to know I was good at, and I shamefully miss sometimes like an abusive lover. I think my friends would be more ashamed of me if I went back to UCB than some of my exes. “You can get out…it’s ok… don’t go back to him… he always makes you pay $500 to tell you he doesn’t think you’re good enough for him to commit (get on a house team).”

I woke up in a cold sweat like waaaait one of the last times you had fun with your ex-best friend was in that basement when you were gifted a $300 shearling coat that you still wear! Slay! Ziwe was there pre ever doing an Instagram Live. Vintage! How the hell I got on that guest list, I do not know. It was way before my huuuuuge social media following (20k, and I think I’ll never be happy with that number xo).

Anyway, I love The Flower Shop. I forgot how cute it is! They have a very vibey upstairs with booths for a catch-up with a big group of friends and then the perfect basement for a private event, hence all the brands. It feels very homey with the brick walls and the plants and the vaguely recroom at a ski lodge decor. (aesthetic: 10/10).

Glennis drove me (I’m so lucky) and as responsible early-30-somethings, we were right on time at 10pm, and there was no line. Gen Z was not arriving until later. We were on the list so we were quickly shuttled downstairs to the party. (wait time: 10/10).

full slay!

Mad Realities was celebrating the launch of the third season of their social media tv show with fashion it-girl Anaa Saber which meant everyone there was reaaaaaally attractive. Like the kinds of guys I used to see on Raya before I was banned. They are photographers, they own galleries, they skateboard and have a boutique Asian-fusion-pizza shop, etc… Sandy, who is always looking out for me, did try to introduce me to a male influencer (immediate no based on the job) and a very hot DP. And did we flirt, 100%, but outside of brand events, these kinds of guys are not to be trusted. They’re for a month-long situationship that maybe involves a spontaneous weekend in Miami and that’s it! (husband material: 6/10)

Not only did MR partner with Casetify for NYC-themed phone cases and charms (yeaaah, a handful of those went in my purse), there was an open bar! I’m so proud of them, they really went off. I drank delicious espresso martinis ($0) and spicy margaritas ($0), and I had a shot of tequila from an ice luge. (yummy-ness: 10/10)

The party really picked up at midnight when these fashion girl DJ’s took over and started playing all bangers. Even though the music was fun and people were dancing, I was being too chatty and social to really shake ass. (shaking ass factor: 7/10)

I got in an essential photoshoot with Garrett and Allison, and a tarot reading that spoke to me. The reader, another hot girl of course, told me I’m experiencing a creative block of my own making (7 of Swords) and if I release it and just do the work, it will be smooth sailing (3 of Discs). I believed her because a) I do feel myself comparing what I’m doing to everyone else too much lately. It doesn’t help that the annual Vulture Comedians You Should Know List just came out which is always an opportunity for me to assess where I am in my career and b) she was hot. Believe hot women.

The only unfortunate part of this perfect night is that my current top ranked crush did not see any of my Instagram stories about it. All of my screen-time, no fewer than 10 hours a day, is devoted to scrolling through my own stories and checking to see if my crushes watched them. And he didn’t?!

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Night Out to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.